Login  |   Register

On Now
Coming Up
  • There are no Events to display in this category.

Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF Related Assets
December 30, 2016


ENGLEWOOD, Colo. — The Denver Broncos have selected center Matt Paradis as their 2016 Ed Block Courage Award winner, it was announced.
Each year, the Ed Block Courage Award honors players who exemplify commitments to the principles of sportsmanship and courage.
Paradis has played all 999 possible snaps through 15 games in 2016 while working through hip injuries. He was named a Pro Bowl alternate for the first time in his career. 
The Ed Block Courage Award is named in honor of Ed Block, the longtime head athletic trainer of the Baltimore Colts, who was a pioneer in his profession and a respected humanitarian. Recipients are selected by their teammates for exceptional courage, great character and inspiring effort.
The 39th Ed Block Courage Awards recognizing recipients from each of the 32 NFL teams will be held at the Renaissance Hotel-Inner Harbor in Baltimore on March 9.
Year Player   Year Player   Year Player
1984 Keith Bishop   1996 Ed McCaffrey   2008 Marquand Manuel
1985 Rulon Jones   1997 Steve Atwater   2009 Brian Dawkins
1986 Rubin Carter   1998 Tony Jones   2010 Ryan Clady
1987 Dennis Smith   1999 Rod Smith   2011 Elvis Dumervil
1988 Gerald Wilhite   2000 John Mobley   2012 Chris Kuper
1989 Rick Dennison   2001 Terrell Davis   2013 Knowshon Moreno
1990 Keith Kartz   2002 Keith Burns   2014 Chris Harris Jr.
1991 John Elway   2003 Tom Nalen   2015 Brandon Marshall/
1992 Dennis Smith   2004 Dan Neil     Danny Trevathan
1993 Simon Fletcher   2005 Dwayne Carswell   2016 Matt Paradis
1994 Rondel Jones   2006 Louis Green      
1995 Dave Wyman   2007 John Engelberger      

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.